I’m talking about Jon and Kate Plus 8…

I just watched the last episode and I was losing interest in the show, mainly b/c of her and was contemplating taking it off my Tivo. I’m telling you…life is exciting for me! My husband likes to say “if that’s the only thing you have to worry about, then life is good for you”. So back to the story…the last episode was about her pregnancy, labor, and their days in the NICU and I felt so sad for them. Sad in the sense that their lives are soooo not normal. Part of it is due to their exposure (I admit…I’m a reality TV junkie) but it’s sad b/c who wouldn’t notice such a huge family like that to begin with. We got so many oohs and aahs when my twins were infants and even now, we get comments and stares but imagine walking around with 2 sets of multiples, where one set is sextuplets!!! At the end of the episode, Kate made a comment and teared up when she said that life with just the twins was so normal and peaceful. And then Jon said life will never be the same. I felt bad for them. So now I must continue to watch and support them. I’m a sap like that; I can’t help it.

The episode also brought back memories of my own pregnancy and labor. Ugh! Being put on “house rest” at 26 weeks, being admitted for preterm labor at 31 weeks, being placed on bedrest thereafter, and not being able to take a shower longer than 5 minutes…not an easy pregnancy. But it all worked! I made it to 36 weeks and my kids never had to see the NICU. I am most proud of them weighing in at 5 lbs, 8 oz each!!! for those of you who can’t do the math…that is 11 lbs inside of my tiny uterus!!! Here comes some more of my sappiness…the whole idea of a baby forming from just a sperm and an egg is truly a miracle and when you have multiple babies able to survive in such tight quarters, it truly is such a blessing.

So Kate…hats off to you! You keep doing what you need to do to survive and stay sane! …as if she’s reading this πŸ™‚

big sis

