Lil sis moved this weekend and most of my time was spent over at her new place which is only 10 minutes away!

But I did manage to do some “crafts” with my kids. So this is our first attempt at building a gingerbread house. What can I say about the experience…it was a tad bit stressful for me b/c I like to have things MY WAY but b/c I wanted the kids to enjoy it, I had to take a step back and let them decorate it the way they wanted to. We had almost 2 tantrums…my son dropped his bowl of candy (and wouldn’t you know, it was the teeny tiny ones that he was in charge of!)…I had kids all over me and wanting to touch this and that and taste this and that and then wipe this and that EVERYWHERE…and an hour and a half later, my daughter and I were done. My son left after he dropped his bowl of candy. Patience is one thing he does not have too much of  🙂

Step 1: Buy a kit! I am not a frosting kind of gal. I try but it’s just so sweet for me. I’m the one taking frosting off of everything. And I’m not a whipped cream kind of girl either. I LOVE sweets but cannot stand all that stuff on top of cakes/cupcakes. So b/c I’m not a lover of frosting, I have never attempted to make it nor do I even know where to begin so I did the easiest thing possible…buy a kit and so worth it! I don’t know if I’ll ever end up making my own 🙂

Step 2: Begin assembling while kids are eating breakfast and watching TV.

first-gingerbread-house-001-rs

You like? 🙂 Super easy and requires no thinking. There are grooves everywhere. Loving it so far!

first-gingerbread-house-002-rs

Step 3: Decorate with 2.5 year olds. Get lots of napkins, wet ones and dry. Minimize fighting between the 2 kids. Have tons of patience. Don’t be bossy. Don’t lose your cool. Stay calm. And try to have fun! Why must I be so Type A???

first-gingerbread-house-003-rs

And this is the end result. My daughter was SO proud of herself and showed it off to everyone! Too cute and and even worth me not getting my way!

big sis

