The timing of all the horrible stuff related to my Brother’s sewing machine was perfect! I almost forgot that Valentine’s Day was right around the corner! While I LOVE holidays…any kind of holiday where you can decorate and give away goodies to kids, I particularly don’t love to make batches and batches and batches of “things”. But that’s what I get for signing my kids up for all these classes. So for the past 3 days, I’ve been making treats galore! I knew I wasn’t going to be able to bake 50 plus cookies without resenting them (the cookies, that is) so I googled away. And here’s what I ended up making.

v-day-09-004

PINK heart shaped rice krispy treat lollipops! I was able to make 25 from start to finish during their nap so it’s definitely doable if you don’t want to spend too much time making treats for your kid’s classmates. (By the way, I had to make almost 60 of these!) Follow the recipe on the box and add red food coloring to your butter and marshmallow mix. I chose to go pink but I’m assuming if you add lots of coloring, you could get it to be red. This is what mine looked like before adding the cereal.

v-day-09-001

Here’s the tricky part…when you get to the cookie cutter part, you need to pack as much rice krispy mix into the cutter. This way, your heart will be firm and your lollipop stick can penetrate without your heart falling apart.

v-day-09-002

v-day-09-003

If you pack it tight, then your treat should look like this from the side.

AND you MUST work fast. You need your rice krispy to be sticky and “moldable”. To prevent your hands from getting super sticky and preventing the rice krispy from sticking completely to the cookie cutter, I just dipped my hands/cookie cutter into a bowl of water. You can also use nonstick cooking spray.

Now…how to wrap them up? I bought those lollipop wrappers from Wilton’s. and my heart shape fit PERFECTLY. If my hearts were any bigger, I would have been in trouble. That’s it! I got alot of oohs and aahs from the kids AND mommies so I believe they were a hit.

For the teachers? I love chocolates. I’m not into all that fancy stuff…although I can appreciate it. But I just LOVE See’s. My fav? The marshmallow/caramel one…you know which one I’m talking about? I have no idea what they are called. Those are the first ones I go for! Anyways, I bought a box of choco for the teachers but I also wanted to give them something homemade/handmade. In the absence of my sewing machine…I was forced to bake. I baked Giada De Laurentis’ banana muffins but the twist…I baked them in Reynold’s heart shape muffin tins.

v-day-09-007

I opted to leave out the frosting b/c remember, I’m not a frosting fan 🙂 This recipe is also very sweet in my opinion. I had already decreased the sugar to about 1 cup and 3/4 (instead of 2 cups) but I may have to decrease it even more.

So all of my treats have been shared and given away! I hope you have tons of fun making those V-day’s treats!

big sis

