I started Bikram Yoga classes. For those of you who are not familiar with Bikram Yoga, here is the definition provided by Wikipedia…

Bikram’s Yoga, also known as Hot Yoga, or “Fire Yoga” is a style of yoga developed by Bikram Choudhury and a Los Angeles, California based company.[1] Bikram Yoga is ideally practiced in a room heated to 105°F (40.5°C) with a humidity of 40%. Classes are guided by specific dialogue including 26 postures and two breathing exercises. Classes last approximately 90 minutes. Beginners may take Bikram’s yoga classes. {wikipedia}

I consider it exercise in a sauna like atmosphere with a very interesting smell. I know hardcore bikram yoga peeps consider it much more…healing of the mind and body. Anyhow, it’s been great thus far. They tell us beginners that our goal is to stay in the room. I was able to do that, but at one point I did want to leave because I couldn’t stand the smell. I stuck through it though. Plus, I didn’t want anyone to get pissed off at me for letting the cool breeze come in by opening the door. Yikes! Imagine all the stares I would get when coming back in.

After the “namaste”, I stayed in the dead body position for a bit longer because that’s exactly how I felt. Just lifeless and couldn’t move…I have to admit I overdid it on some stretches thinking that I was some yoga pro. Anyhow, several people already had left the room. When I got out, I realized my flip flops were gone! AHHH! The only plain black flip flops that were left were a pair of Havianas that were a Size 8 (I wear a size 6.5). I told the receptionist, and she said she would leave a note posted on their desk. I just left the yoga studio feeling extra dirty. Drenched in sweat, dirty towel draped over my body, and wearing a pair of stranger’s Havianas on my sticky feet.

-lil sis

