So it has been 6 days that we’ve babysat the silkworms and we have been anxiously waiting for them to start spinning their cocoons. Feedings: 3-4 times a day. Poop cleaning: 1 time a day. Watching: every hour or so!

Last night I checked on them and found one on the side of the box. I agreed to watch them as long as they did NOT try to escape! Well, it turns out this lil one was actually starting to spin his/her cocoon!

Last night. The beginning…

This morning.

This afternoon. It will take approximately 36 hours for this one to complete his cocoon.

I couldn’t help but just sit there and stare. How crazy is that? And the sad part…their only purpose in life is to reproduce and then they die after a few days.

Yes, it’s a bit gross to me and I always have to wear gloves to handle them but my twins have absolutely loved having “pets”. They greet them in the morning, tell them that we are home from school, feed them, pet them, and say goodnight to them. Time for real pets? I think not! Remember, I only agreed b/c this was going to be a temporary gig 🙂

In the midst of all this worrying and taking care of the silkworms, I am wrapping up all the details for the twin’s b-day party. I cannot wait and I have a busy few days ahead of me. I hope I can keep everything together…including myself!

big sis

