I failed my glucose test. “The glucose challenge test (or blood glucose test) is a precautionary measure for women that are pregnant and is routinely recommended by the healthcare provider. Gestational diabetes is a high blood sugar condition that some women acquire during pregnancy” taken from http://www.suite101.com.

I was on a special diet the past three days and yesterday was fasting day. I don’t know why I decided to be on this special diet during labor day wknd. We went to two bbqs, but I did good and resisted. If you fail the first test, you have to go back and do a three hour glucose test. This means they prick you 4x for your blood, all while on an empty stomach. Seriously, I thought this was harder than labor. I’m joking, but it was hard. Imagine drinking this sugary orange soda drink, then having to sit in this small waiting room for three hours and every hour you have to make sure you tell the technician to draw your blood. I tried to sleep, but I was so afraid that I wouldn’t hear my alarm clock go off on the hour. I couldn’t even take a walk outside because they say walking elevates your glucose level. I almost threw up twice, but I held it in because the tech told me that if I did I would have to redo the test. ARE YOU KIDDING ME? It was the longest morning of my life!

Anyways, I’m praying that I pass this test. It was a big wake up call for me when my alarm went off at 4:40am to get ready for my 5am appointment. I couldn’t get out of bed. I couldn’t function. Then the thought occurred to me that in a couple of months, I would have to go through this quite frequently with baby #2 on the way. Sigh…a big happy sigh…

-lil sis

