I’m incorporating a chalkboard into Tabi’s birthday party, and I wanted to make some chalkboard tags to go with it for the kids’ goody bags. A new friend of mine was sooooooo generous to let me borrow her Cricut, and I am HEAD OVER HEELS IN LOVE with this machine! (BIG THANK YOU IF YOU’RE READING THIS E!) It can do everything. Really! Remember my post last year about how to make scalloped paper? Well forget that if you have a Cricut! Although they cost a couple hundred, I truly think it’s worth it especially if you like to craft. I can totally see me using this when my kids are in school, and I need to make gifts, cards, or things for school. I’m hinting towards the hubs that I want this for my Christmas present. Too bad you can’t use a Joanns coupon on Cricut machines or their cartridges. I’ve seen great deals on cartridges on Craigslist. Not sure I would trust buying a Cricut machine through CList, but I have seen some go for decent prices.

Cricut in action –

I used the tag function and cut 12×12 cardstock to 4 1/4″ tall tags.

Perfectly cut tags!

I spray painted the backs of the tags yesterday with Krylon Chalkboard Spray Paint. I didn’t get to take a picture of that, but here is the back sides of the tag. After the tags dried, I flipped them over to spray paint the other side.

Waiting for the last side to dry. I only sprayed each side once.

And here is the final product –

It’s a super easy project, and it can be a fun activity for your kids to draw with chalk INSIDE the house versus giving them chalk to draw on the sidewalk. I spray painted a piece of cardstock for my toddler, and she’s been having fun with drawing on her new chalkboard. It lasted about 10 minutes, but hey it’s something new for her and reusable which is always a plus!

-lil sis

